1. a) 12 hours of continuing education is required for all brokers and salespersons for renewal of licenses in 2018. See b) and c) for exceptions.
There is one three-hour mandatory course:
- Fair Housing
You must take the mandatory course and at least three elective courses to satisfy the continuing education requirement for license renewal.
For complete details on the 2018 Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements, click here!
Renewal dates with CE are as follows:
- Brokers – March 31, 2018
- Salepersons – May 31, 2018
b) Salespersons – If you passed the Connecticut Salesperson full licensing examination between 6/1/2016 and 5/31/2018, you do not need to take the continuing education courses. (The date used is not the issuance date of your first license, it is the exam date.) Your Score Reports you received from PSI will reflect the examination passing date.
c) Brokers – If you passed the Connecticut Broker full licensing examination between 4/1/2016 and 3/31/2018, you do not need to take the continuing education courses. (The date used is not the issuance date of your first license, it is the exam date.) Your Score Reports you received will reflect the examination passing date.
d) DO NOT SUBMIT Continuing Education Certificates with your 2018 renewal form or mail to the Department unless requested. Please retain original certificates for 3 years in the event you are selected for audit by this Department.
e) Your score reports your received from PSI will reflect the examination passing date. If you do not know when you passed your examination, please contact PSI directly at: 1-800-733-9267.
2. Appraisers are required to complete 28 hours of continuing education by April 30, 2018. Mandatory courses include a 7-hour USPAP course and a 3-hour course in Appraisal Law. Provisional appraisers should check with the Appraisal Commission for exemption information.
If you hold a Connecticut salesperson’s or broker’s license and have a reciprocal license in Rhode Island, the Connecticut continuing education requirement of 12 hours satisfies your Rhode Island continuing education requirement. When you renew your Rhode Island license, attach copies of the continuing education certificates taken in Connecticut.
RULE 28 CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR BROKERS AND SALESPERSONS from Rhode Island Commercial Licensing Regulation 11 – Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons
(A) Prior to renewal of any Broker’s or Salesperson’s License, the Licensee shall present evidence to the Real Estate Section of the Department of attendance and successful completion during the preceding two (2) year period of eighteen (18) clock hours of real estate oriented educational sessions or courses of instruction of which at least six (6) clock hours must come from the following core courses:
- Law of Agency
- Law of Contracts
- Fair Housing
- Lead Hazard Mitigation
- RI License Law & Ethics
Twelve (12) hours may come from any courses approved by the Real Estate Commission in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.5-12 unless exempt from the requirement under R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.5-2 and any other continuing education requirement mandated by the Department.
(B) The Real Estate Commission shall have the responsibility to:
1. Publish a list of approved providers at which courses may be taken.
2. Publish a list of approved courses. The courses shall be in, but are not limited to, the following areas:
(a) Law of Agency;
(b) Law of Contracts;
(c) Real Estate Law and Conveyancing;
(d) Real Estate Marketing;
(e) Legal Description and Zoning;
(f) The Closing Statement and Trust Account;
(g) Elements of Appraising, Construction and Design;
(h) Financing of Real Estate;
(I) Real Estate Insurance;
(j) Taxes and Real Estate;
(k) Real Estate Mathematics;
(l) Fair Housing;
(m) Rhode Island License Law and Ethics;
(n) Wetlands and Coastal Real Estate;
(o) Condominiums and Time Sharing Laws; and
(p) Lead Hazard Mitigation.
3. Create a sample, uniform certificate to be issued by the approved providers to be distributed to the students as proof of completion of the course; and
4. All continuing education courses submitted for approval on or after June 1, 2001 will be approved for a three (3) year period. Resubmission is required for re-approval for additional three-year periods.
(C) The individual Licensee shall have the responsibility to:
1. Fulfill the requirements of this regulation; and
2. Attach his/her certificate(s) of compliance to the License renewal form.
(D) Completion of the requirements of this section will be a condition precedent to renewal of a License. A Licensee who fails to comply with the provisions of this section may show cause as to why his/her License should not be revoked by the Director. If a Licensee fails to show cause, the Director may revoke the License.
(E) This regulation shall in no way impose any requirements on those individuals who currently hold a valid Broker’s or Salesperson’s License originally issued prior to 12/27/84, those exempt under R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.5-2 or any Licensee who has been Licensed less than one hundred eighty (180) days prior to the expiration of the License. A Salesperson who obtains a Broker’s License shall be subject to the continuing education requirements set forth herein.
(F) All Real Estate school permits shall expire annually on August 31 and those licenses will remain in effect for a period of one (1) year.